The Final Farewell Project

Never Forgotten

Serving Families throughout Northern Ohio with assistance for final expenses after the loss of a loved one.


The Final Farewell is committed to serving those in need without regard to race, religion, circumstances of their passing or financial means, and those who are unable to receive assistance from other sources.



  “To do what ought to be done but would not have been done unless I did it, I thought to be my duty.” -Robert Morrison



Board of Directors 


Honorable Susan Baker Ross President

Tamara Cummings Vice President

Paulina Twiggs; Treasurer

Amber Slaughter Secretary

Christina Shaw Stow City Council

Dr. N.J. Akbar Vice President Akron City Board of Education

Honorable Judge Ron Cable

Anja Aniere

Jawanda Crumb

Jeanette Favor


Community Advisory Board


Jerry Craig; Summit Co. ADM Board

Don Walters; Mayor, Cuyahoga Falls

Margo Sommerville; Akron City Council President/Sommerville Funeral Home

Nathanael Billow; Billow's Funeral Homes

Steve Shoemaker; Clifford-Shoemaker Funeral Home

Brenda Ryan; President, Keys to Serenity

Tugg Massa; President, Akron Say No To Dope

Jared Sherman; Co-Founder The Final Farewell Project/Community Organizer/Alum Phi Delta Theta Univ. of Akron

Manuel Halkias; Co-Founder


Dorene Sherman MA.




The Final Farewell Project receives $5,000 grant from the

Akron Community Foundation

Community Response Fund for those impacted by COVID-19

Click on our Events and News tab to learn more about the grantand how to qualify for assistance


©2018 by The Final Farewell Project. Proudly created with